A Window Opens (Hardcover)

A Window Opens Cover Image
Email or call for price
Hard to Find

Elisabeth Egan is the book critic for Glamour magazine and has now written her first book. A Window Opens is the story of Alice, a busy wife and mother of three and a part-time editor who is: not a cook, active PTA member, or breadwinner of the family. But when her husband has to make a career change, it is Alice that jumps in and luckily lands a brilliant job at  croll, a hip startup that promises to be the future of reading. She can do it all; this balancing act is no problem! Can she though? Fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette and Bridget Jones's Diary will enjoy this very real story. –Kelly E.

— From Kelly E's picks

September 2015 Indie Next List


“Alice Pearse has just accepted a job with Scroll, (a forward-thinking bookstore,) but Susannah, her friend who owns the neighborhood bookstore, asks her, 'Would you really work for an operation that will be the final nail in the coffin for Blue Owl Books?' On her first day, Alice must set up meetings with 30 agents and editors and assemble 425 top titles to sell in Scroll's lounges. The job is in addition to having three children, a dog, a husband in the midst of a career change, parents, siblings, and friends. Alice soon realizes this career may not be exactly what she envisioned and must ask herself, what matters the most? -- the very question that many of us ask ourselves every day. A delightful, inspiring, and moving tale that will be a top choice for any book group.”
— Karen Briggs (W), Great Northern Books and Hobbies, Oscoda, MI

Description


"Egan's delightful debut is a fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all." --People

*People, Summer's Best Books*Entertainment Weekly, 8 Big Fat Beach Reads*Woman's Day, Great Summer Reads*Publishers Weekly, Best Summer Books*Good Housekeeping, Your Ultimate Summer Reading List*Minneapolis Star Tribune, 10 Novels Not to Miss*Coastal Living, Great Summer Reads *Time Out New York, Summer Reading List*Goop Newsletter, Best Summer '15 Reading*

Fans of I Don't Know How She Does It and Where'd You Go, Bernadette will cheer at this "fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all" (People) about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny--only to learn every opportunity comes at a price.

In A Window Opens, beloved books editor at Glamour magazine Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which she never refers to as "wearing many hats" and wishes you wouldn't, either). She is a mostly-happily married mother of three, an attentive daughter, an ambivalent dog-owner, a part-time editor, a loyal neighbor and a Zen commuter. She is not: a cook, a craftswoman, a decorator, an active PTA member, a natural caretaker or the breadwinner. But when her husband makes a radical career change, Alice is ready to lean in--and she knows exactly how lucky she is to land a job at Scroll, a hip young start-up which promises to be the future of reading, with its chain of chic literary lounges and dedication to beloved classics. The Holy Grail of working mothers―an intellectually satisfying job and a happy personal life―seems suddenly within reach.

Despite the disapproval of her best friend, who owns the local bookstore, Alice is proud of her new "balancing act" (which is more like a three-ring circus) until her dad gets sick, her marriage flounders, her babysitter gets fed up, her kids start to grow up and her work takes an unexpected turn. Readers will cheer as Alice realizes the question is not whether it's possible to have it all, but what does she―Alice Pearse―really want?
Product Details
ISBN: 9781501105432
ISBN-10: 1501105434
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: August 25th, 2015
Pages: 384
Language: English