Village Books & Paper Dreams - Fairhaven
10am-6pm daily
 
Village Books - Lynden
Mon-Fri: 10am-4pm
Sat & Sun: Closed

The Grand Slam: Bobby Jones, America, and the Story of Golf (Paperback)

The Grand Slam: Bobby Jones, America, and the Story of Golf Cover Image
$21.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


This Los Angeles Times bestseller takes a riveting look at the life and times of depression-era golf legend Bobby Jones.

In the wake of the stock market crash and the dawn of the Great Depression, a ray of light emerged from the world of sports in the summer of 1930. Bobby Jones, a 28-year-old amateur golfer, mounted a campaign against the record books. In four months, he conquered the British Amateur Championship, the British Open, the United States Open, and finally the United States Amateur Championship, an achievement so extraordinary that writers dubbed it the Grand Slam. No one has ever repeated it.

Mark Frost uses a wealth of original research to provide an unprecedented intimate portrait of golf great Bobby Jones. In the tradition of The Greatest Game Ever Played, The Grand Slam blends social history with sports biography, captivating the imagination and engaging the reader. The Grand Slam is a biography not to be missed.

About the Author


Mark Frost is the author of the critically acclaimed The Greatest Game Ever Played, The Grand Slam, and the bestselling The List of 7, The 6 Messiahs, and Before I Wake. He received a Writer's Guild Award and an Emmy nomination for his work as executive story editor on the acclaimed television series Hill Street Blues, and was the co-creator and executive producer of the ABC television series Twin Peaks. He lives in Los Angeles and upstate New York.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781401307516
ISBN-10: 1401307515
Publisher: Hachette Books
Publication Date: September 1st, 2005
Pages: 514
Language: English