Website Under Construction

Our website is going through changes! Thank you for your patience.

Village Books & Paper Dreams - Fairhaven
Sun: 10am-8pm
Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm
 
Village Books - Lynden
Sun-Tues: 10am-5pm
Wed-Sat: 10am-6pm

ATOM: The Beginning Vol. 2 (Paperback)

ATOM: The Beginning Vol. 2 By Osamu Tezuka, Tetsuro Kasahara (Illustrator), Masami Yuuki (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Osamu Tezuka, Tetsuro Kasahara (Illustrator), Masami Yuuki (Illustrator)
$12.99
Not in-stock currently-usually arrives within 1-14 business days

Description


Fans of sci-fi and mech manga will love the explosive second volume of Atom: The Beginning, available in English for the first time! Continue the journey that leads to the famous series Astro Boy created by the ‘God of Manga’ Osamu Tezuka!

It’s time for Robot Wrestling! Determined to continue the project, engineering students Umatarō and Hiroshi enter their superpowered robot Six into a robot fighting tournament! Standing in their way of the prize money is the undefeated robot Mars and its mysterious creator, Dr. Lolo... can Six defeat the ‘invincible god of war’?
 
Created by Masami Yuki and Tetsurō Kasahara, ATOM Volume 2 is a beautifully drawn, action-packed thrill ride, perfect for fans of Battle Angel Alita and Ghost in the Shell, filled with heart and humor and a lovable cast of characters!
 

About the Author


Osamu Tezuka was a Japanese manga artist, cartoonist, and animator whose revolutionary comics earned him the title of manga no kamisama (“God of Manga”). His body of work is one of the largest and most prolific in all of Japanese culture, and he produced several of the country’s greatest drawn stories for both children and adults, including the iconic Astro Boy, Kimba the White Lion, Black Jack, Dororo, Message to Adolf, and Princess Knight. Tezuka passed away in 1989.

Masami Yuuki is a manga artist and member of the artist group Headgear. He is most known for his celebrated manga series Mobile Police Patlabor, which has spawned many spin-offs and adaptations into anime, movies, live-action projects, novels, video games, and more.

Tetsuro Kasahara is a manga artist whose body of work revolves mostly around the robot and mecha genres. One of his most famous works, RideBack, was adapted into an anime in 2009. Now, he is focusing on ATOM: The Beginning, a prequel to Osamu Tezuka’s Astro Boy.

Praise For…


"This is a fantastic read; it's a must if you love Astro Boy, and nevertheless strongly recommended for everyone else. 4 out of 5 stars!" - Jean-Karlo Lemus, Anime News Network

"a must-have volume for Manga fans, especially Astro Boy fans. The action is intense, the mysteries are intriguing, and oodles of heart permeate every page. 9.5/10" Comical Opinions

"It’s a new spin on a classic series" - ICV2

"If you’re an Astro Boy fan, the incoming twists and turns will be super exciting. Even if you’re not, it’s great sci-fi with lots of action and—naturally—lots of heart." Otaku USA Magazine

"ATOM: The Beginning has crisp and clean linework that readers will appreciate and seems a stellar start to a new take on a sci-fi classic." - Comic Book

"Delivers an enjoyable opening ... likable characters and an intriguing larger story." - But Why Tho

"The action sequences and robot designs are freaking awesome. I really enjoyed this!" - Near Mint Condition 

"Fun, action-packed and immensely likeable, this is an absolutely blinding start to a series. It races out of the blocks and smashes it right off the bat." - Mainly Manga


Product Details
ISBN: 9781787739581
ISBN-10: 1787739589
Publisher: Titan Manga
Publication Date: December 13th, 2022
Pages: 208
Language: English