Village Books & Paper Dreams - Fairhaven
Sun: 10am-8pm
Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm
 
Village Books - Lynden
Sun-Tues: 10am-5pm
Wed-Sat: 10am-6pm

A Beetle Is Shy (Sylvia Long) (Paperback)

A Beetle Is Shy (Sylvia Long) By Dianna Hutts Aston, Sylvia Long (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Dianna Hutts Aston, Sylvia Long (Illustrator)
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
Village Books - Fairhaven
1 on hand, as of Mar 1 11:07pm
(JBUG-)

Description


Now in paperback! A gorgeous look at the fascinating world of beetles from the creators of the award-winning Nature Book series.

From the acclaimed duo Dianna Hutts Aston and Sylvia Long, creators of An Egg Is Quiet, A Seed Is Sleepy, and A Rock Is Lively, this beautiful paperback edition of A Beetle Is Shy is here to open a world of wonders to a new audience of young readers. From flea beetles to bombardier beetles, an incredible variety of these beloved bugs are showcased here in all their splendor.

Poetic in voice and elegant in design, this carefully researched book is sure to inspire lively questions and spark the imaginations of young readers. This beautiful volume will be equally at home being read to a child on a parent’s lap as it is in a classroom reading circle.
 

AFFORDABLE FORMAT: A paperback format makes this highly acclaimed title accessible to an even broader range of readers.

A NATURE BOOK TO TREASURE: Beautifully illustrated and brimming with facts about the wonderfully weird, diverse, and amazing world of beetles, curious kids will find a wealth of information and inspiration in this fascinating picture book.
 
EVERYONE LOVES THIS SERIES!:
An Egg Is Quiet
"A delight for budding naturalists of all stripes, flecks, dots, and textures." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review
"Will inspire kids to marvel." —Booklist
A Junior Library Guild Premiere selection
One of Scholastic Parent & Child magazine's 100 Greatest Books for Kids
 
A Butterfly Is Patient
"Both eye-catching and informative." —School Library Journal, starred review
"A lovely mix of science and wonder." —Publishers Weekly, starred review
"Stunning." —Library Media Connection, starred review
An ALA Notable Children's Book
An NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Book for Students Grades K–12
An NCTE Notable Children's Book in the Language Arts
 
A Rock Is Lively
"Eye-catching and eye-opening." —School Library Journal, starred review
"A visual and verbal feast." —Boston Globe
An IRA Teachers' Choices Reading List selection
 
A Seed Is Sleepy
"Will stretch children's minds and imaginations." —School Library Journal, starred review
An IRA Teachers' Choices Reading List selection
 
A Nest Is Noisy
"Beautiful . . . an asset to science collections." —Booklist
A Junior Library Guild selection

Perfect for:
  • Parents, teachers, librarians, in-school educators, and homeschoolers
  • Preschool, kindergarten, and emerging readers with an interest in insects and nature
  • Fans of Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt and others in the Over and Under series
  • For boys and girls who love books about bugs, animals, nature, and the world around them
  • Anyone interested in learning more about the planet we inhabit
  • Gift giving for any holiday as well as birthdays and springtime or summer reading

About the Author


Dianna Hutts Aston has written many bestselling children's books inspired by her awe for the wonders of nature. She lives in the Texas Hill Country, where she is a student of wildflower seed harvesting and viticulture, a caregiver, and a chauffeur.
 
Sylvia Long is the illustrator of many award-winning books for children that have sold more than 2.5 million copies. Her detailed paintings are inspired by her love of animals and the outdoors. She lives in Scottsdale, Arizona.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781797215877
ISBN-10: 1797215876
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: May 9th, 2023
Pages: 40
Language: English
Series: Sylvia Long