Village Books & Paper Dreams - Fairhaven
Mon-Sat: 9am-9pm
Sun: 10am-7pm
 
Village Books - Lynden
Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm
Sun: 11am-5pm

Author Events

Jared Hardesty, Black Lives, Native Lands, White Worlds: A History of Slavery in New England

Sun, 01/26/2020 - 4:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225

*Join us for this FREE Lit Live! event -- meet the author and get your book signed!*

Black Lives, Native Lands, White Worlds is a concise yet comprehensive history of slavery in early New England. This exciting new book explores the importance of slavery to the colonization and settlement of New England, slavery’s relationship to the development of agriculture and industry, and the significance of slavery during the American Revolution.

Chuckanut Radio Hour 13th Anniversary Show!

Thu, 01/30/2020 - 7:00pm
WCC Heiner Theater
237 W Kellogg Rd
Bellingham, WA 98226
Chuckanut Radio Hour 13th Anniversary Show

Radio Hour Hosts Paul Hanson and Kelly Evert with Announcer, Rich Donnely

This month, the Chuckanut Radio Hour will celebrate its 13th Anniversary with special guests! Bring your notebooks with you for plenty of recommended reading for the year to come!

Featuring musical duo, Free Harmony.

Chuck Dingee and Sharon Mayson’s beautiful vocals are what make Free Harmony unique and a treat to listen to. They formed the duo in 2017 and have been busy entertaining people in the Northwest ever since. A founding member of Bellingham’s popular classic rock band The Walrus, Chuck has been singing and playing in the area for over 40 years.  He has an eclectic repertoire of hundreds of songs from Gershwin to Beatles to Pink Floyd.

Having sung all her life, Sharon has an incredibly smooth voice and performs in local Northwest bands High Spirits and Pacific Twang.

Together they play an entertaining mix of songs ranging from the 60s to present, by artists like Simon & Garfunkel, The Beatles, Emmylou Harris, John Denver, Indigo Girls, The Police, Pink Floyd, Eagles, Bonnie Raitt, and many others. In March 2019, Free Harmony was opening act for the band America at the Tulalip and Legends Casinos in Washington state.

This is always a popular show so get your tickets now! Tickets for the Chuckanut Radio Hour are $5 and are available at Village Books and EventBrite.com.


An Evening with Diane Rehm at Sehome High School!

Tue, 02/11/2020 - 7:00pm
2700 Bill McDonald Pkwy
Bellingham, WA 98225

Join us for an evening with beloved radio personality, Diane Rehm, as she discusses her new book with local author, Phyllis Shacter.
About When My Time Comes: through interviews with terminally ill patients, and with physicians, ethicists, spouses, relatives, and representatives of those who vigorously oppose the movement, Rehm gives voice to a broad range of people who are personally linked to the realities of medical aid in dying. The book presents the fervent arguments--both for and against--that are propelling the current debates across the nation about whether to adopt laws allowing those who are dying to put an end to their suffering. With characteristic even-handedness, Rehm skillfully shows both sides of the argument, providing the full context for this highly divisive issue.

Diane Rehm will be in conversation with local author, Phyllis Shacter, author of Choosing to Die: A Personal Story: Elective Death by Voluntarily Stopping Eating and Drinking (VSED) in the Face of Degenerative Disease.

Tickets are available at Village Books or on Eventbrite (standard taxes and fees apply), and are $30 for one person which includes a copy of When My Time Comes OR $40 for two people and one copy of When My Time Comes.*

Chuckanut Radio Hour Featuring Melissa Anne Peterson at the Firehouse Arts and Events Center Vera Violet - Pacific NW Fiction!

Tue, 02/18/2020 - 7:00pm
Firehouse Arts and Events Center
1314 Harris Ave
Bellingham, WA 98225

Join us at the Firehouse as we welcome this brand new voice in fiction that is taking the Pacific NW literary world by storm. Vera Violet recounts the dark story of a rough group of teenagers growing up in a twisted rural logging town. There are no jobs. There is no sense of safety. But there is a small group of loyal friends, a truck waiting with the engine running, a pair of boots covered in blood, and a hot 1911 with a pearl pistol grip.

Emily Thuma, All Our Trials: Prisons, Policing, and the Feminist Fight to End Violence

Thu, 02/20/2020 - 7:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225

During the 1970s, grassroots women activists in and outside of prison forged a radical politics against gender violence and incarceration. All Our Trials explores the work of these activists who placed criminalized women, and the multiple violences they confronted, at the heart of their organizing. Drawing on extensive archival research, Emily Thuma traces the making of this anticarceral feminism at the intersections of movements for racial and economic justice, prisoners’ and psychiatric patients’ rights, and gender and sexual liberation.

Cindy Baldwin, Beginners Welcome - Middle Grade Fiction!

Wed, 02/26/2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

The acclaimed author of Where the Watermelons Grow is back with a story perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Ali Benjamin, about finding friendship after a tragic loss.
Annie Lee’s daddy won’t stop leaving his record player on. His whiskers are in the sink every morning. And he always keeps the TV turned to Duke basketball. Except Annie Lee’s daddy died eighty-three days ago. Annie Lee doesn’t like the word “ghost,” but whatever is going on isn’t making things easier for her and Mama. Just like in her debut, Where the Watermelons Grow, Cindy Baldwin brings her signature twist of magic to this authentically heartfelt story.

Cindy Baldwin is a Carolina girl who moved to the opposite coast and is gamely doing her part in keeping Portland weird. As a middle schooler, she kept a book under her bathroom sink to read over and over while fixing her hair or brushing her teeth, and she dreams of someday writing just that kind of book. Her debut middle grade novel, Where the Watermelons Grow, received multiple starred reviews and was an Indies Introduce title, Indie Next pick, Bank Street Best Book of 2019, and Washington Post KidsPost Summer Book Club selection.

Elaine Weiss at WWU's Performing Arts Center Mainstage, The Woman's Hour

Thu, 02/27/2020 - 6:30pm
WWU’s Performing Arts Center Main Stage
516 High St
Bellingham, WA 98225

Join us for a very special evening with Elaine Weiss, author of The Woman's Hour. The League of Women Voters* is pleased to present this FREE Centennial Celebration event to our community. Read and share this riveting account of the last push to ratify the 19th Amendment!

*Co-sponsored by the Ralph Munro Institute for Civic Education and Village Books, with support from the Washington Sates Women's Commission's Votes for Women Centennial Grant. Convenient, free parking is available. 

Pages

Subscribe to Author Events