Village Books & Paper Dreams - Fairhaven
Sun: 10am-8pm
Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm
 
Village Books - Lynden
Sun: 12-4pm
Mon-Thurs: 10am-5pm
Fri-Sat: 10am-6pm

Special Events

Tuesday Story Time with Claire

Tue, 01/03/2023 - 11:00am
Tue, 01/10/2023 - 11:00am
Tue, 01/17/2023 - 11:00am
Tue, 01/24/2023 - 11:00am
Tue, 01/31/2023 - 11:00am
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Join Claire in the kids section every Tuesday at 11am for a half hour of stories, songs, and movement! 

WEDNESDAY: Village Books in Fairhaven Closed for Inventory

Wed, 02/01/2023 - 9:00am to 8:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Village Books in Fairhaven will be closed all day on Wednesday, February 1 so that we can count all of the books! Every last one.

Paper Dreams will be open from 9am-8pm!

We'll see you bright and early on Thursday at 9am.

Karl Petersen, Stars Beyond the Veil - IN LYNDEN!

Sat, 02/04/2023 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
430 Front St
Lynden, WA 98264

Join us at our Lynden location for another great event with local author Karl Petersen as he presents his latest novel in the Young Adult genre!

Seating is very limited so we recommend reserving your seat on Eventbrite!

CLICK HERE TO RESERVE YOUR SEAT

VB Reads...Afternoon Book Chat

Wed, 02/08/2023 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Wednesday, February 8, 1:00pm

The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz by Erik Larson

The author of The Devil in the White City and Dead Wake delivers an intimate chronicle of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz—an inspiring portrait of courage and leadership in a time of unprecedented crisis.

In The Splendid and the Vile, Erik Larson shows, in cinematic detail, how Churchill taught the British people “the art of being fearless.” It is a story of political brinkmanship, but it’s also an intimate domestic drama, set against the backdrop of Churchill’s prime-ministerial country home, Chequers; his wartime retreat, Ditchley, where he and his entourage go when the moon is brightest and the bombing threat is highest; and of course, 10 Downing Street in London.

Erik Larson is the author of six New York Times bestsellers, most recently The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz, which examines how Winston Churchill and his “Secret Circle” went about surviving the German air campaign of 1940-41. 
 

Chuckanut Writers - The Many Paths to Publishing Your Book with Chloe Hovind

Wed, 02/08/2023 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Interested in writing? Sign up for our monthly Just Write enewsletter today!

Village Books and WCC Community and Continuing Education have established a writing instruction collaboration called Chuckanut Writers. Writing classes, seminars, and conferences will inspire and encourage writers at all stages of their writing journey.

Chuckanut Radio Hour 16th Anniversary Show Featuring Luci Shaw and Jessica Gigot!

Thu, 02/09/2023 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
1314 Harris Ave.
Bellingham, WA 98225

2022 marked 16 years since the first Chuckanut Radio Hour aired and we are celebrating at the Firehouse Arts and Events Center! Join us for an evening of music, poetry, comedy and revelry.

SOLD OUT: Historic Fairhaven Chocolate Walk

Sat, 02/11/2023 - 12:00pm to 5:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

THIS EVENT HAS SOLD OUT.

Chuckanut Sandstone Writers Theater Open Mic

Tue, 02/14/2023 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Chuckanut Sandstone Writers Theater (CSWT) Open Mic is held at Village Books on the second Tuesday of the month from 6-8 PM Pacific time. Everyone is welcome to read their own original writings (poems, prose, essays, plays) for 1 to 7 minutes to an enthusiastic audience.

VB Reads...Lynden Front Streeters

Wed, 02/15/2023 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
430 Front St
Lynden, WA 98264

Wednesday, February 15, 7:00pm

The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

From beloved New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Marie Benedict comes the story of a not-so-famous scientist who not only loved Albert Einstein, but also shaped the theories that brought him lasting renown.
In the tradition of Beatriz Williams and Paula McClain, Marie Benedict's The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. This novel resurrects Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated. Was she simply Einstein's sounding board, an assistant performing complex mathematical equations? Or did she contribute something more?

Marie Benedict is the author of The Other Einstein, Carnegie’s Maid, The Only Woman in the Room, and Lady Clementine, views herself as an archaeologist of sorts, telling the untold stories of women. She lives in Pittsburgh with her family. 

Pages

Subscribe to Special Events