Village Books & Paper Dreams - Fairhaven
Mon-Sat: 9am-9pm
Sun: 10am-8pm
masks optional
 
Village Books - Lynden
Mon-Thurs: 10am-4pm
Fri-Sat: 10am-6pm
Sun: 12-4pm
masks optional

Special Events

Harriet Cannon, Exiled South - IN PERSON

Sun, 10/09/2022 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Don't miss this event for a debut novel that "...rips the cover off traditional Southern sagas and takes you on a riveting international journey across a century..." (McCallie Cooper, Author of Dragonfly Dreams and Grace in China)

We are still operating at a limited capacity so we recommend pre-registering on Eventbrite. 

CLICK HERE TO RESERVE YOUR SEAT*

VB Reads...Armchair Historians IN PERSON!

Mon, 10/10/2022 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Monday, October 10,7pm  

The Woman's Hour: The Great Fight to Win the Vote by Elaine Weiss

"Both a page-turning drama and an inspiration for every reader"--Hillary Rodham Clinton

Nashville, August 1920. Thirty-five states have ratified the Nineteenth Amendment, twelve have rejected or refused to vote, and one last state is needed. It all comes down to Tennessee, the moment of truth for the suffragists, after a seven-decade crusade. The opposing forces include politicians with careers at stake, liquor companies, railroad magnates, and a lot of racists who don't want black women voting. And then there are the "Antis"--women who oppose their own enfranchisement, fearing suffrage will bring about the moral collapse of the nation. They all converge in a boiling hot summer for a vicious face-off replete with dirty tricks, betrayals and bribes, bigotry, Jack Daniel's, and the Bible.

Following a handful of remarkable women who led their respective forces into battle, along with appearances by Woodrow Wilson, Warren Harding, Frederick Douglass, and Eleanor Roosevelt, The Woman's Hour is an inspiring story of activists winning their own freedom in one of the last campaigns forged in the shadow of the Civil War, and the beginning of the great twentieth-century battles for civil rights.

Elaine Weiss is an award-winning journalist and writer whose work has appeared in The Atlantic, Harper's, The New York Times, and The Christian Science Monitor, as well as in reports and documentaries for National Public Radio and Voice of America. A MacDowell Colony Fellow and Pushcart Prize Editor's Choice honoree, she is also the author of Fruits of Victory: The Woman's Land Army in the Great War.

VB Reads...Afternoon Book Chat IN PERSON

Wed, 10/12/2022 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Wednesday, October 12, 1:00pm

The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century by Kirk Wallace Johnson

From the author of The Fishermen and the Dragon, a rollicking true-crime adventure and a captivating journey into an underground world of fanatical fly-tiers and plume peddlers, for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief.

On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at London's Royal Academy of Music, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist boarded a train for a suburban outpost of the British Museum of Natural History. Home to one of the largest ornithological collections in the world, the Tring museum was full of rare bird specimens whose gorgeous feathers were worth staggering amounts of money to the men who shared Edwin's obsession: the Victorian art of salmon fly-tying. Once inside the museum, the champion fly-tier grabbed hundreds of bird skins—some collected 150 years earlier by a contemporary of Darwin's, Alfred Russel Wallace, who'd risked everything to gather them—and escaped into the darkness.

Two years later, Kirk Wallace Johnson was waist high in a river in northern New Mexico when his fly-fishing guide told him about the heist. He was soon consumed by the strange case of the feather thief. What would possess a person to steal dead birds? Had Edwin paid the price for his crime? What became of the missing skins? In his search for answers, Johnson was catapulted into a years-long, worldwide investigation. The gripping story of a bizarre and shocking crime, and one man's relentless pursuit of justice, The Feather Thief is also a fascinating exploration of obsession, and man's destructive instinct to harvest the beauty of nature.

Kirk W. Johnson is the author of The Fishermen and the Dragon and To Be a Friend Is Fatal, and the founder of the List Project to Resettle Iraqi Allies, which he started after serving with USAID in Fallujah. His writing has appeared in The New Yorker and The New York Times, and on This American Life, among others.

Alyssa Quinn, Habilis - IN PERSON

Fri, 10/14/2022 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Join us in the Readings Gallery for a presentation by WWU alum Alyssa Quinn!

We are still operating at a limited capacity for our in-person events so we recommend pre-registering on Eventbrite to reserve your seat.

CLICK HERE TO RESERVE YOUR SEAT*

Molly Hashimoto, Trees of the West: An Artist's Guide - IN PERSON

Sun, 10/16/2022 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Molly Hashimoto is back with another gorgeous book and we're thrilled to welcome her as part of our Nature of Writing series, a partnership between Village Books and the North Cascades Institute!

We are still operating at a limited capacity for our events so we recommend pre-registering on Eventbrite to reserve your spot. 

REGISTER HERE TO RESERVE YOUR SEAT*

VB Reads...Afternoon Book Chat IN PERSON

Wed, 11/09/2022 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Wednesday, November 9, 1:00pm

Cloud Cuckoo Land by Anthony Doerr

From the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of All the Light We Cannot See, comes the instant New York Times bestseller that is a “wildly inventive, a humane and uplifting book for adults that’s infused with the magic of childhood reading experiences” (The New York Times Book Review).

Among the most celebrated and beloved novels of recent times, Cloud Cuckoo Land is a triumph of imagination and compassion, a soaring story about children on the cusp of adulthood in worlds in peril, who find resilience, hope, and a book.

In the 15th century, an orphan named Anna lives inside the formidable walls of Constantinople. She learns to read, and in this ancient city, famous for its libraries, she finds what might be the last copy of a centuries-old book, the story of Aethon, who longs to be turned into a bird so that he can fly to a utopian paradise in the sky. Outside the walls is Omeir, a village boy, conscripted with his beloved oxen into the army that will lay siege to the city. His path and Anna’s will cross.

In the present day, in a library in Idaho, octogenarian Zeno rehearses children in a play adaptation of Aethon’s story, preserved against all odds through centuries. Tucked among the library shelves is a bomb, planted by a troubled, idealistic teenager, Seymour. This is another siege.

And in a not-so-distant future, on the interstellar ship Argos, Konstance is alone in a vault, copying on scraps of sacking the story of Aethon, told to her by her father.

Anna, Omeir, Seymour, Zeno, and Konstance are dreamers and outsiders whose lives are gloriously intertwined. Doerr’s dazzling imagination transports us to worlds so dramatic and immersive that we forget, for a time, our own.

Anthony Doerr is the author of Cloud Cuckoo Land, which was a finalist for the National Book Award, and All the Light We Cannot See, winner of the Pulitzer Prize, the Carnegie Medal, the Alex Award, and a #1 New York Times bestseller. He is also the author of the story collections Memory Wall and The Shell Collector, the novel About Grace, and the memoir Four Seasons in Rome. He has won five O. Henry Prizes, the Rome Prize, the New York Public Library’s Young Lions Award, the National Magazine Award for fiction, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and the Story Prize. Born and raised in Cleveland, Ohio, Doerr lives in Boise, Idaho, with his wife and two sons.

Josephine Woolington, Where We Call Home: Land, Seas, and Skies of the Pacific Northwest - IN PERSON

Sat, 11/19/2022 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Join us in the Readings Gallery for another great event in our Nature of Writing series, a partnership between Village Books and the North Cascades Institute.

We are still operating at a limited capacity for our events so we recommend pre-registering on Eventbrite to reserve your spot. 

REGISTER HERE TO RESERVE YOUR SEAT*

Pages

Subscribe to Special Events