Village Books & Paper Dreams - Fairhaven
Sun: 10am-8pm
Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm
 
Village Books - Lynden
Sun: 12-4pm
Mon-Thurs: 10am-5pm
Fri-Sat: 10am-6pm

Special Events

Chuckanut Sandstone Writers Theater Open Mic

Tue, 02/14/2023 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Chuckanut Sandstone Writers Theater (CSWT) Open Mic is held at Village Books on the second Tuesday of the month from 6-8 PM Pacific time. Everyone is welcome to read their own original writings (poems, prose, essays, plays) for 1 to 7 minutes to an enthusiastic audience.

VB Reads...Lynden Front Streeters

Wed, 02/15/2023 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
430 Front St
Lynden, WA 98264

Wednesday, February 15, 7:00pm

The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

From beloved New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Marie Benedict comes the story of a not-so-famous scientist who not only loved Albert Einstein, but also shaped the theories that brought him lasting renown.
In the tradition of Beatriz Williams and Paula McClain, Marie Benedict's The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. This novel resurrects Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated. Was she simply Einstein's sounding board, an assistant performing complex mathematical equations? Or did she contribute something more?

Marie Benedict is the author of The Other Einstein, Carnegie’s Maid, The Only Woman in the Room, and Lady Clementine, views herself as an archaeologist of sorts, telling the untold stories of women. She lives in Pittsburgh with her family. 

Whatcom READS: The IWW Today

Wed, 02/15/2023 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Join us in the Readings Gallery for a free event in the Whatcom READS program!

Spaces are limited so we suggest reserving your seat on Eventbrite soon.

CLICK HERE TO ATTEND

Anna Quinn, Angeline - Fiction!

Thu, 02/16/2023 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

We're pleased to welcome Anna Quinn, author of the bestselling novel, The Night Child, to the Readings Gallery to discuss her haunting new novel. Don't miss it!

CLICK HERE TO RESERVE YOUR SEAT

Whatcom WRITES Group Reading in Lynden, Between Fact and Fiction

Sun, 02/19/2023 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
430 Front St
Lynden, WA 98264

Join us in Lynden for a group reading from this year's Whatcom WRITES Anthology: Between Fact and Fiction.

Chuckanut Writers- The Writer's Toolbox: Building Strong Characters with Roby Blecker (virtual classroom)

Thu, 02/23/2023 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm

Interested in writing? Sign up for our monthly Just Write enewsletter today!

Village Books and WCC Community and Continuing Education have established a writing instruction collaboration called Chuckanut Writers. Writing classes, seminars, and conferences will inspire and encourage writers at all stages of their writing journey.

Chuckanut Writers - The Writers Toolbox with Roby Blecker, Package of All Six Workshops (virtual classroom)

Thu, 02/23/2023 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm

Interested in writing? Sign up for our monthly Just Write enewsletter today!

Village Books and WCC Community and Continuing Education have established a writing instruction collaboration called Chuckanut Writers. Writing classes, seminars, and conferences will inspire and encourage writers at all stages of their writing journey.

Margaret Willson, Woman, Captain, Rebel: The Extraordinary True Story of a Daring Icelandic Sea Captain

Thu, 02/23/2023 - 7:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Don't miss this presentation about a controversial woman in history who "fought for dignity and equality for underrepresented Icelanders." 

We are still operating at a limited capacity for our in-person events so we recommend pre-registering on Eventbrite.

CLICK HERE TO RESERVE YOUR SEAT*

Whatcom WRITES Group Reading in Fairhaven, Between Fact and Fiction

Sun, 02/26/2023 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Join us in Fairhaven for a group reading from this year's Whatcom WRITES Anthology: Between Fact and Fiction.

Chuckanut Writers- The Writer's Toolbox: Writing Compelling Dialogue with Roby Blecker (virtual classroom)

Thu, 03/02/2023 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm

Interested in writing? Sign up for our monthly Just Write enewsletter today!

Village Books and WCC Community and Continuing Education have established a writing instruction collaboration called Chuckanut Writers. Writing classes, seminars, and conferences will inspire and encourage writers at all stages of their writing journey.

Pages

Subscribe to Special Events