Village Books & Paper Dreams - Fairhaven
Mon-Sat: 9am-9pm
Sun: 10am-7pm
 
Village Books - Lynden
Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm
Sun: 11am-5pm

Special Events

Cindy Baldwin, Beginners Welcome - Middle Grade Fiction!

Wed, 02/26/2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

The acclaimed author of Where the Watermelons Grow is back with a story perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Ali Benjamin, about finding friendship after a tragic loss.
Annie Lee’s daddy won’t stop leaving his record player on. His whiskers are in the sink every morning. And he always keeps the TV turned to Duke basketball. Except Annie Lee’s daddy died eighty-three days ago. Annie Lee doesn’t like the word “ghost,” but whatever is going on isn’t making things easier for her and Mama. Just like in her debut, Where the Watermelons Grow, Cindy Baldwin brings her signature twist of magic to this authentically heartfelt story.

Cindy Baldwin is a Carolina girl who moved to the opposite coast and is gamely doing her part in keeping Portland weird. As a middle schooler, she kept a book under her bathroom sink to read over and over while fixing her hair or brushing her teeth, and she dreams of someday writing just that kind of book. Her debut middle grade novel, Where the Watermelons Grow, received multiple starred reviews and was an Indies Introduce title, Indie Next pick, Bank Street Best Book of 2019, and Washington Post KidsPost Summer Book Club selection.

Whatcom READS: Book Discussion with Eowyn Ivey

Thu, 03/05/2020 - 11:00am to 1:00pm
Ferndale Public Library
2125 Main St.
Ferndale, WA 98248

Join us at the Ferndale Public Library for a lively discussion of To the Bright Edge of the World-featuring author, Eowyn Ivey. Find out more at whatcomreads.org. Read the book. Join the conversation! Through March 7, 2020, Vllage Books donates 10% of To the Bright Edge of the World sales to Whatcom READS.

Whatcom READS: An Evening with Ewoyn Ivey

Thu, 03/05/2020 - 7:00pm
Mount Baker Theatre
104 N. Commercial St
Bellingham, WA 98225

Join us as the WhatcomREADS community gathers to hear author Eowyn Ivey speak about her novel, To the Bright Edge of the World at the historical Mount Baker Theatre. This is a free event and all are welcome.The free event at the Mount Baker Theatre is one of several community events tied to this year's county-wide book club. Find out more at whatcomreads.org. Read the book. Join the conversation! Through March 7, 2020, Vllage Books donates 10% of To the Bright Edge of the World sales to Whatcom READS.

Purple Friday Story Time Featuring Dr. Seuss’s Horse Museum - Kids Event!

Fri, 03/06/2020 - 10:30am
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Join us in the Readings Gallery for stories and activities around this great book that teaches about the creative process and how to see art in new ways. Most important, this book reminds readers that there is no right or wrong way to look at our think about art. Everyone sees things in different ways! We’ll read stories, do some ‘arting’ and find inspiration together. 
Ages 5-11

Pages

Subscribe to Special Events