Village Books & Paper Dreams - Fairhaven
Mon-Sat: 9am-9pm
Sun: 10am-7pm
 
Village Books - Lynden
Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm
Sun: 11am-5pm

Fairhaven

Story Time in Fairhaven

Sat, 02/22/2020 - 10:30am
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

EVERY SATURDAY! Join us for Story Time in the Kids’ Section! We’ll read aloud from some of our favorite books. Author does not attend.


Join us at all of our regular weekly Story Times!
In Fairhaven every Tuesday and Saturday at 10:30am.
In Lynden every Wednesday at 11am and Saturday at 2pm.

Tuesday Story Time with Kendra

Tue, 02/25/2020 - 10:30am
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Join Kendra in the Kids section every Tuesday at 10:30am for a half an hour of stories, songs, and movement as we read and get silly about books! Authors do not attend.


Join us at all of our regular weekly Story Times!
In Fairhaven every Tuesday and Saturday at 10:30am.
In Lynden every Wednesday at 11am and Saturday at 2pm.

Cindy Baldwin, Beginners Welcome - Middle Grade Fiction!

Wed, 02/26/2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

The acclaimed author of Where the Watermelons Grow is back with a story perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Ali Benjamin, about finding friendship after a tragic loss.
Annie Lee’s daddy won’t stop leaving his record player on. His whiskers are in the sink every morning. And he always keeps the TV turned to Duke basketball. Except Annie Lee’s daddy died eighty-three days ago. Annie Lee doesn’t like the word “ghost,” but whatever is going on isn’t making things easier for her and Mama. Just like in her debut, Where the Watermelons Grow, Cindy Baldwin brings her signature twist of magic to this authentically heartfelt story.

Cindy Baldwin is a Carolina girl who moved to the opposite coast and is gamely doing her part in keeping Portland weird. As a middle schooler, she kept a book under her bathroom sink to read over and over while fixing her hair or brushing her teeth, and she dreams of someday writing just that kind of book. Her debut middle grade novel, Where the Watermelons Grow, received multiple starred reviews and was an Indies Introduce title, Indie Next pick, Bank Street Best Book of 2019, and Washington Post KidsPost Summer Book Club selection.

Chuckanut Writers - Finding Your Story's Spine with Rebecca Mabanglo-Mayor

Wed, 02/26/2020 - 6:00pm to 7:30pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

The body of a story is only as strong as its spine. With strong characters in high conflict, it can be hard to define aplot outline. Finding a story's spine is a tool to find gaps in stories as well as see where a story's strength lies in terms of theme. This interactive workshop led by Rebecca Mabanglo-Mayor, a multi-genre author and professional storyteller, will give you ways to find any missing bones that may be keeping you from a completing a satisfying story. 

1 session

Evolve Reads...Life Between the Pages

Thu, 02/27/2020 - 6:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Thursday, February 27, 6:00pm

The Grass Is Singing by Doris Lessing

Set in Southern Rhodesia under white rule, Doris Lessing's first novel is at once a riveting chronicle of human disintegration, a beautifully understated social critique, and a brilliant depiction of the quiet horror of one woman's struggle against a ruthless fate.

Mary Turner is a self-confident, independent young woman who becomes the depressed, frustrated wife of an ineffectual, unsuccessful farmer. Little by little the ennui of years on the farm works its slow poison. Mary's despair progresses until the fateful arrival of Moses, an enigmatic, virile black servant. Locked in anguish, Mary and Moses—master and slave—are trapped in a web of mounting attraction and repulsion, until their psychic tension explodes with devastating consequences.

Pages

Subscribe to Fairhaven