Village Books & Paper Dreams - Fairhaven
Mon-Sat: 9am-9pm
Sun: 10am-7pm
 
Village Books - Lynden
Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm
Sun: 11am-5pm

Fairhaven

Emily Thuma, All Our Trials: Prisons, Policing, and the Feminist Fight to End Violence

Thu, 02/20/2020 - 7:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225

During the 1970s, grassroots women activists in and outside of prison forged a radical politics against gender violence and incarceration. All Our Trials explores the work of these activists who placed criminalized women, and the multiple violences they confronted, at the heart of their organizing. Drawing on extensive archival research, Emily Thuma traces the making of this anticarceral feminism at the intersections of movements for racial and economic justice, prisoners’ and psychiatric patients’ rights, and gender and sexual liberation.

Story Time in Fairhaven

Sat, 02/22/2020 - 10:30am
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

EVERY SATURDAY! Join us for Story Time in the Kids’ Section! We’ll read aloud from some of our favorite books. Author does not attend.


Join us at all of our regular weekly Story Times!
In Fairhaven every Tuesday and Saturday at 10:30am.
In Lynden every Wednesday at 11am and Saturday at 2pm.

Creative and Literary Liberation

Sun, 02/23/2020 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225

Join us in the Readings Gallery on the second and fourth Sunday of every month for this brand new discussion group. This is a People of Color-centered gathering for literary and creative expression where poetry, book readings, spoken word, and songs are shared. This event is for people who identify as a Person of Color and anti racist White advocates. Hosted by Racial Justice Coalition.

Tuesday Story Time with Kendra

Tue, 02/25/2020 - 10:30am
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

Join Kendra in the Kids section every Tuesday at 10:30am for a half an hour of stories, songs, and movement as we read and get silly about books! Authors do not attend.


Join us at all of our regular weekly Story Times!
In Fairhaven every Tuesday and Saturday at 10:30am.
In Lynden every Wednesday at 11am and Saturday at 2pm.

Cindy Baldwin, Beginners Welcome - Middle Grade Fiction!

Wed, 02/26/2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

The acclaimed author of Where the Watermelons Grow is back with a story perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Ali Benjamin, about finding friendship after a tragic loss.
Annie Lee’s daddy won’t stop leaving his record player on. His whiskers are in the sink every morning. And he always keeps the TV turned to Duke basketball. Except Annie Lee’s daddy died eighty-three days ago. Annie Lee doesn’t like the word “ghost,” but whatever is going on isn’t making things easier for her and Mama. Just like in her debut, Where the Watermelons Grow, Cindy Baldwin brings her signature twist of magic to this authentically heartfelt story.

Cindy Baldwin is a Carolina girl who moved to the opposite coast and is gamely doing her part in keeping Portland weird. As a middle schooler, she kept a book under her bathroom sink to read over and over while fixing her hair or brushing her teeth, and she dreams of someday writing just that kind of book. Her debut middle grade novel, Where the Watermelons Grow, received multiple starred reviews and was an Indies Introduce title, Indie Next pick, Bank Street Best Book of 2019, and Washington Post KidsPost Summer Book Club selection.

Chuckanut Writers - Finding Your Story's Spine with Rebecca Mabanglo-Mayor

Wed, 02/26/2020 - 6:00pm to 7:30pm
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015

The body of a story is only as strong as its spine. With strong characters in high conflict, it can be hard to define aplot outline. Finding a story's spine is a tool to find gaps in stories as well as see where a story's strength lies in terms of theme. This interactive workshop led by Rebecca Mabanglo-Mayor, a multi-genre author and professional storyteller, will give you ways to find any missing bones that may be keeping you from a completing a satisfying story. 

1 session

Pages

Subscribe to Fairhaven