Village Books & Paper Dreams - Fairhaven
Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm
Sun: 10am-8pm
masks required
 
Village Books - Lynden
Mon-Thurs: 10am-4pm
Fri-Sat: 10am-6pm
Sun: 12-4pm
masks required

SOLD OUT: Chuckanut Radio Hour Featuring Thor Hanson, Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught and Fascinating Biology of Climate Change - IN PERSON

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Thu, 10/21/2021 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
Event address: 
1314 Harris Ave.
Bellingham, WA 98225

THIS EVENT IS SOLD OUT.

Join us at the Firehouse Performing Arts Center as we welcome Thor Hanson BACK to the Radio Hour! This event is part of the Nature of Writing series, a partnership between Village Books and the North Cascades Institute.

Spaces are limited and REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED to secure your spot so don't delay. 

COVID protocol for our in-person events requires masks for all attendees and proof of full vaccination upon arrival. Thank you for your cooperation.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

In  Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid, biologist Thor Hanson tells the remarkable story of how plants and animals are responding to climate change: adjusting, evolving, and sometimes dying out. Anole lizards have grown larger toe pads, to grip more tightly in frequent hurricanes. Warm waters cause the development of Humboldt squid to alter so dramatically that fishermen mistake them for different species. Brown pelicans move north, and long-spined sea urchins south, to find cooler homes. And when coral reefs sicken, they leave no territory worth fighting for, so aggressive butterfly fish transform instantly into pacifists.
A story of hope, resilience, and risk, Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid is natural history for readers of Bernd Heinrich, Robin Wall Kimmerer, and David Haskell. It is also a reminder of how unpredictable climate change is as it interacts with the messy lattice of life.

Thor Hanson is a conservation biologist, Guggenheim Fellow, and author of award-winning books including Buzz, Feathers, The Impenetrable Forest, and The Triumph of Seeds. He lives with his wife and son on an island in Washington State.

Thor Hanson will be interviewed by Christian Martin of the North Cascades Institute. For the past 15 years, Christian Martin has served as the Marketing and Communications Manager for North Cascades Institute. He has coordinated Institute events with some of the very best writers on the natural world including Gary Snyder, Terry Tempest Williams, Mary Oliver, Wendell Berry and Kathleen Dean Moore. His own nature and travel writing appears in several regional publications including the Cascadia Weekly and Adventures NW, and contributed to a book on the North Cascades published by The Mountaineers Books.


The Chuckanut Radio Hour, a recipient of Bellingham's prestigious Mayor's Arts Award, is a radio variety show that began in January 2007. Each Chuckanut Radio Hour includes guest authors, musicians, performance poet Kevin Murphy, and episodes of "As the Ham Turns" serial radio comedy performed by the Chuckanut Radio Players Les Campbell, Tonja Meyers, Lisa Colburn, Dee Robinson, and Robert Muzzy. Not to mention groaner jokes by hosts Paul Hanson, Kelly Evert, and announcer Rich Donnelly. The Chuckanut Radio Hour's first guest was Erik Larson and has since included, Tom Robbins, Maria Semple, Christopher McDougall, Erica Bauermeister, and Garrison Keillor, among many others. Tickets for the Chuckanut Radio Hour are $5 and are available on Eventbrite.The Radio Hour airs every Sunday at 10am on SPARK RADIO, KMRE 102.3FM.  Co-sponsored by the Whatcom Community College Community and Continuing Education, 12th Street Shoes, and Westside Pizza.

Doors open and music begins at 6:30pm!

*Online registration closes one hour prior to the event. Spaces may be available at the door.

Books: 
Hurricane Lizards and Plastic Squid: The Fraught and Fascinating Biology of Climate Change Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781541672420
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Basic Books - September 28th, 2021

Buzz: The Nature and Necessity of Bees Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781541699533
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Basic Books - September 3rd, 2019

The Triumph of Seeds: How Grains, Nuts, Kernels, Pulses, and Pips Conquered the Plant Kingdom and Shaped Human History Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780465097401
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Basic Books - March 8th, 2016

Feathers: The Evolution of a Natural Miracle Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780465028788
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Basic Books - July 31st, 2012

Location: