Village Books & Paper Dreams - Fairhaven
Mon-Sat: 9am-9pm
Sun: 10am-7pm
 
Village Books - Lynden
Mon-Sat: 9am-8pm
Sun: 11am-5pm

Peter Laufer, Dreaming in Turtle

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Fri, 12/07/2018 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
1200 11th St
Bellingham, WA 98225-7015
Event Photo: 

*Join us for this FREE Lit Live! event -- meet the author and get your book signed!*

In the vein of Sy Montgomery and Elizabeth Kolbert comes a fascinating exploration into the world of turtles across the globe; Laufer charts the lore, love, and peril to a beloved species. Dreaming in Turtle is a compelling story of a stalwart animal prized from prehistory through to today―an animal threatened by human greed, pragmatism, and rationalization. It stars turtles and shady and heroic human characters both, in settings ranging from luxury redoubts to degraded habitats, during a time when the confluence of easy global trade, limited supply, and inexhaustible demand has accelerated the stress on species. The growth of the middle class in high-population regions like China, where the turtle is particularly valued, feeds this perfect storm into which the turtle finds itself lashed. This is a tale not just of endangered turtles but also one of overall human failings, frailties, and vulnerabilities―all punctuated by optimistic hope for change fueled by dedicated turtle champions.

Peter Laufer is the James Wallace Chair Professor in Journalism at the University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication. An international news correspondent, editor, broadcast journalist and award-winning author, he has written two dozen books including the 2014 Organic: A Journalist’s Quest to Discover the Truth behind Food Labeling. Laufer is a former NBC News Correspondent. At the University of Oregon, Laufer helped establish and co-directs the UO-UNESCO Institute for Conflict Sensitive Reporting and Intercultural Dialogue.  He also co-directs the European Journalism Observatory North American bureau at the UO.

Can’t make it to an event? No problem! You can pre-pay and receive a signed, personalized copy of the book you want. We ship!
 

Books: 
Dreaming in Turtle: A Journey Through the Passion, Profit, and Peril of Our Most Coveted Prehistoric Creatures Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250128096
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - November 20th, 2018

Organic: A Journalist's Quest to Discover the Truth Behind Food Labeling Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781493009336
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Lyons Press - November 1st, 2015

Interviewing: The Oregon Method Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780870717666
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Oregon State University Press - November 1st, 2014

Location: